Admin
Special Education header

Riverside Unified School District is committed to meeting the educational needs of the exceptional child. All disabled children between the ages of 3 and 21 are provided appropriate educational opportunities. In addition, the district provides services to children under the age of three whose sole disability is deafness, blindness, or certain orthopedic conditions. Excellent facilities and over 250 dedicated staff members provide for the needs of the child or student who is learning disabled, emotionally disturbed, orthopedically impaired, intellectually disabled, deaf, deaf/blind, visually impaired, autistic, and speech and language impaired. Support services include psychologists, program specialists, and administrative staff. An Individualized Education Program (IEP) is developed at least annually for each of over 4,900 students to ensure that each child receives a free and appropriate education designed to assist him/her in reaching their unique potential in the least restrictive educational environment. Those charged with these responsibilities welcome the opportunity to provide a rich and meaningful program to exceptional children, coordinated with the efforts of parents, to the end that lives will be more productive and complete.

5700 Arlington Avenue,
Riverside, California 92504



Kiersten Reno-Frausto

Kiersten Reno-Frausto

Director, Pupil Services/Special Education Local Plan Area
kfrausto@riversideunified.org
Ext: 83503


Carrie Antrim

Carrie Antrim

Principal, Coordinator/Special Ed
cantrim@riversideunified.org
Ext: 66050


Robert Diaz

Robert Diaz

Coordinator, Ermhs/Secondary Special Education
rjdiaz@riversideunified.org
Ext: 83802


Cynthia Hartshorn

Cynthia Hartshorn

Coordinator, Pupil Services/Selpa
chartshorn@riversideunified.org
Ext: 83504


Michael Damico

Michael Damico

Program Specialist
mdamico@riversideunified.org
Ext: 83820


Nicole Matthews

Nicole Matthews

Program Specialist
nmatthews@riversideunified.org
Ext:83807


Shanell Hawkins

Shanell Hawkins

Program Specialist
shawkins@riversideunified.org
Ext:83509


Aurora Garcia

Aurora Garcia

Program Specialist
aurgarcia@riversideunified.org
Ext:83508


Latonya Southall

Latonya Southall

Program Specialist
lsouthall@riversideunified.org
Ext:83505


Margaret Mcdairmant

Margaret Mcdairmant

Program Specialist
mmcdairmant@riversideunified.org
Ext:83519


Jana Stewart

Jana Stewart

Program Specialist
jstewart@riversideunified.org
Ext:68024


Lawanna Stewart-Barnes

Lawanna Stewart-Barnes

Program Specialist
lstewart-barnes@riversideunified.org
Ext:68401


Maria Wood

Maria Wood

Program Specialist
mwood@riversideunified.org
Ext:83512



Special Education Directory